National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page | www.parliament.amNational Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page |
Armenian Russian English French
NA President  |   Deputies  |   NA Council  |   Committees  |   Factions  |   Staff  |   Budget office  |   Legislation   |   News  |   Foreign Relations  |   Library  |   Constituency Relations  |   Competition Council  |   Links
General information about the Republic of Armenia

The Republic of Armenia is a sovereign, democratic, social and legal state. The state power is administered pursuant to the Constitution and the laws based on the principle of separation of the legislative, executive and judicial powers.

Official Name:
Republic of Armenia - Hayastani Hanrapetoutyun

Capital City:

Major Cities:
Gyumri, Vanadzor

Official Language:

Christian, Armenian Apostolic Church

Currency Unit:
Armenian Dram, introduced in 1993.

2 986 100 (as of 2017)

Ethnic Composition:
Armenians - 96%
Minorities: Russians, Yezidis, Kurds, Assyrians, Greeks, Ukrainians, Jews and others

Natural Resources:
Armenia is rich in coal, iron, bauxite, molybdenum, gold, silver, lead and zinc. Substantial deposits of pumice, marble, tufa, perlite, limestone, basalt and salt exist. Precious and semi-precious stones are also abundant.

29.74 thousand square kilometers

Average Altitude Above Sea Level:
1 800 meters

Highest Mountain Peak:
Aragats (4 090 meters)

Geographic Position:
in the South: 38o50' Northern Latitude;
in the North: 41o20' Northern Latitude:
in the West: 43o30' Eastern Longitude;
in the East: 46o00' Eastern Longitude

Neighbouring Countries:
in the North: Georgia;
in the East: Azerbaijan;
in the South: Iran;
in the South-West: Nakhijevan (Azerbaijan);
in the West: Turkey.

NA President  |  Deputies|  NA Council  |  Committees  |  Factions  |  Staff
Legislation  |   News  |  Foreign Relations   |  Constituency Relations  |  Links  |  RSS