National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page | www.parliament.amNational Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page |
Armenian Russian English French
NA President  |   Deputies   |   NA Council  |   Committees  |   Factions, Groups  |   Staff  |   Budget office  |   Legislation   |   News  |   Foreign Relations  |   Library  |   Constituency Relations  |   Competition Council  |   Links
Birth date
"Prosperous Armenia"
Standing Committee on Economic Affairs  (Committee Deputy Chair)

He was born on September 9, 1949 in Yerevan.

In 1971 he graduated from the Technical Cybernetics faculty of Yerevan Polytechnic Institute. In 1977 he was a post-graduate of the Institute of Economics of the Siberian Department of the USSR Academy of Sciences. He is an engineer-electrician, doctor of economics, professor.

In 1971-1974 he worked as a senior engineer in the Yerevan Research Institute of Mathematical Machines. In 1977-1993 he worked at the Research Institute of Economics and Planning of the Armenian State Planning as a senior research worker, head of sector, head of the division, deputy director on scientific works. In 1993-1999 he was head of social-economic division of the staff of the Supreme Council, then he was head of the economic analysis department of the staff of the National Assembly. In 1994-1996 he was elected member of the board of the Central Bank of the Republic of Armenia. In 2003-2007 he was the head of the Financial Accounting Chair of the Faculty of Economics of the Yerevan State University.

In 1980 he was conferred a title of a laureate of the All-Union competition on Public Sciences for the researches dedicated to the solution of the problems of economic development.

He is a member of the Academy of Natural Sciences of the Russian Federation, correspondent-member of the Engineering Academy of the Republic of Armenia.

He is an author of more than 130 publications.

He was elected as a deputy of the Regional Council twice of Yerevan Soviet district.

In 1999-2003 he was elected as a deputy (proportional electoral system, Miasnutiun/Unity ally). He was a member of the NA Standing Committee of the Financial-Credit, Budgetary and Economic Affairs. He was a member of Miasnutiun faction.

On May 12, 2007 he was elected as a deputy of the National Assembly by proportional electoral system from Bargavach Hayastan/Prosperous Armenia party.

He is married, has three children.

NA President  |  Deputies|  NA Council  |  Committees  |  Factions, Groups  |  Staff
Legislation  |   News  |  Foreign Relations   |  Constituency Relations  |  Links  |  RSS