National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page | www.parliament.amNational Assembly of the Republic of Armenia | Official Web Page |
NA President  |   Deputies   |   NA Council  |   Committees  |   Factions, Groups  |   Staff  |   Budget office  |   Legislation   |   News  |   Foreign Relations  |   Library  |   Constituency Relations  |   Links
President of the National Assembly
Birth date
"Republican Party of Armenia" /RPA/

Tigran Souriki Torosyan was born on April 14, 1956 in Yerevan.

In 1973-1978 he studied at the Faculty of Radio-Electronics of Yerevan Polytechnic (Engineering University) Institute, at the same time in 1976-1978 - at the faculty of Social Sciences. After graduating from the Institute he received his degree as an engineer in electronic technical engineer and technical translator (French language) and from 1978 he started work in Yerevan Scientific Research Institute of Mathematical Machines first as an engineer, then leading engineer. In 1988-1995 he worked as head of subdivision and leading scientific associate. In 1990 he defended his thesis and received his degree of Technical Sciences PhD. He holds patents on 10 inventions and has written more than 30 scientific studies.

In 1996-1998 he was a member of the RA Central Electoral Commission, in 1997-1998 editor-in-chief of the official newspaper of Hanrapetakan/Republican party Hanrapetakan. He has written more than two hundred analytical articles, which were published in different periodicals and collections.

On May 30, 1999 he was elected as a deputy of the RA National Assembly from Miasnutiun/Unity Alliance electoral roll, which formed the Republican Party and Zhoghovrdakan/People’s party. In 1999-2003 he was Vice President of the RA National Assembly. In 2001-2003 he was the Chairman of the Ad hoc Committee on Constitutional Amendments of the National Assembly.

On May 25, 2003 he was reelected from the proportional list of Republican Party of Armenia/RPA. And on June 12, 2003 he was elected Vice President of the NA. From 2003 he is Chairman of the NA Ad-hoc Committee on Matters of Integration in European Structures, head of the Armenian delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

In 2004 he was elected Vice Chairperson of PACE European Democrat Group, in 2006 – Vice Chairperson of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee).

He is a member of RPA faction.

From 1993 he is a member of RPA and the party board. In 1998-2005 he is a Deputy Chairman of RPA board, from 2005 – RPA Deputy Chairman.

On June 1, 2006 he was elected President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia.

He is married and has one daughter.

NA President  |  Deputies|  NA Council  |  Committees  |  Factions, Groups  |  Staff
Legislation  |   News  |  Foreign Relations  |  Constituency Relations  |  Links  |  RSS